World-Class Russian Education!

The goal of Project 5-100 is to maximize the competitive position of a group of leading Russian universities in the global research and education market.


Koenraad Debackere

Member of the Council

Executive Director of the KU Leuven Research & Development

Managing Director of the R&D Dept., Professor in the Economics and Business Faculty, KU Leuven.

Chairman of Gemma Frisius Fonds, a venture fund of KU Leuven.

Co-founder and Chairman of Leuven Inc. – a network of Leuven-based hi-tech innovative companies.

Board member of IWT-Vlaanderen, the Flemish agency for Innovation in Science and Technology.

Invited professor at Manchester Business School (United Kingdom), Milano Politecnico (Italy), Tilburg University (The Netherlands), Chalmers University of Technology (Sweden).

A leading international expert in innovation and technology transfer at universities. Under his decade-long leadership, KU Leuven, Belgium’s largest university, has become a dominant entrepreneurial and innovative university in Europe. One of the creators of an advanced European model for university-clinic collaboration.


Technology; innovative management; research into indicators and links between education, science and technological development; university finance management; role of entrepreneurial universities in economic development.


Licentiate (1985), DBA from Ghent University (Belgium, 1990).

Professional experience:

2005-present – Executive Director of the KU Leuven Research & Development (Belgium).

1995-present – Professor of Technology and Innovation Management at KU Leuven (Belgium).

1992-1994 – Assistant Professor at Erasmus University Rotterdam (The Netherlands).

1988-1992 – Research Assistant and Postdoc Researcher at MIT Sloan School of Management (USA).


Research Publication Award from the International Association for the Management of Technology (2009).

Research Award from the Belgian Entrepreneurship Federation (2006).

Best Research Paper Award from the Decision Sciences Institute (1997).

Awards for the Best Research Paper in Technology and Innovation Management from the American Academy of Management (1993, 1995, 2008).